Celebrating Black History Month with the DIA

Celebrating Black History Month with the DIA, Detroit Institute of Arts

In honor of Black History Month, the Detroit Institute of Arts is offering free online events to the public including music, films, art talks and art-making, events for foodies, seniors, and fun stuff for kids of all ages.

Generously supported by Arn & Nancy Tellem and TD bank, the following opportunities are both educational and enjoyable. Please see the list of online events below.

Celebrating Black History Month with the DIA

Wednesday, Feb 3

  • 6:30 p.m. – Wind Down Wednesdays  

Thursday, Feb 4

  • 1 p.m. – TATM presents Artist Demonstration for seniors.

Friday, Feb 5

  • DFT streaming. Unapologetic 

Saturday, Feb 6

  • 11 a.m. I ❤ My Blackness & Yours: Celebrating Black Photographers
  • DFT streaming. Unapologetic 

Sunday, Feb 7 

  • 2 p.m. The Black Body’s Connection to its Environments  
  • DFT streaming. Unapologetic

Wednesday, Feb 10

  • 6:30 p.m. Wind Down Wednesdays.  

Thursday, Feb 11 

  • 1 p.m. TATM presents African Art for seniors.

Friday, Feb 12

  • DFT streaming. Hale County This Morning, This Evening 

Saturday, Feb 13

  • 11 a.m. I ❤ My Blackness & Yours: Celebrating Black Photographers  
  • DFT streaming. Hale County This Morning, This Evening 

Sunday, Feb 14

  • 11 a.m. The Art of Business Virtual Panel  
  • DFT streaming – Hale County This Morning, This Evening 

Tuesday, Feb 16

  • 6:30 p.m. Hughie Lee-Smith: A Detroit Story  

Wednesday, Feb 17

  • 6:30 p.m. Wind Down Wednesdays  

Thursday, Feb 18

  • 1 p.m. TATM presents African American Art for seniors.

Friday, Feb 19 – Sunday, Feb 21 

  • DFT Streaming – Nationtime 

Wednesday, Feb 24

  • 6:30 p.m. Wind Down Wednesdays  

Thursday, Feb 25

  • 1 p.m. TATM presents Mandabi, a film for seniors.

Streaming Opportunities

  • Films of Reverend Solomon Sir Jones, a successful Baptist minister and early documentary filmmaker in Oklahoma during the 1920s. Starting Feb 8.  
  • Music of Florence Price – starting Feb 15.
  • Friday Night Live! Chantae Cann, a singer, and songwriter who specializes in rhythm & blues traditions, infused with joy and positivity. During the month of February.
  • Short Films of Kristain Hill, a Detroit Native known for his producing & many short films including The Detroit Sound Project. Starting Feb 15.
  • The Old Westside – starting Feb 22.  

Photo – Detroit Institute of Arts

Disclosure – This post may contain affiliate links. By clicking and shopping, you help support Detroit Mommies and allow us to keep reporting on all things families love.


Detroit Mommies Expert Contributor
Shannon is the Owner of Detroit Mommies and is a lifestyle blogger of 17 years. She is the CEO of The Lazov Agency, Glameselle Beauty, and the owner of Glamorousmoms.com and Detroitfashionnews.com. Shannon is also the Founder & President of The Glamorous Moms Foundation, a non-profit organization that supports women and children rebuilding their lives from poverty, illness, human trafficking, addiction, and domestic violence. She is big on spreading love to those who need it most and loves to connect with other parents.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments